top of page


“Patience is a virtue”-William Langland.

This phrase can be hard to put into practice since our hectic lives seem to be a race; one where we try to fit everything into our daily schedules. There is work to be done, groceries to be bought, chores to do, children to parent and pets to care for. The list seems endless. The reality of it is that there will always be things on our lists to complete. The only thing that we can change is the WAY in which we handle the process of getting these things accomplished. I am certain there are times it feels we literally forget to breathe.

Let’ set the scene: You have just carried in four bags of groceries, walked two dogs and fed several children all in the span of an hour. Suddenly, out of nowhere, you are forced to inhale a deep breath and it hits you. When was the last time you consciously stopped to take a breath? When was the last time you sat down with your child as they ate a snack instead of rushing to unload the dishwasher and put the wet clothes into the dryer etc. etc. etc. We often feel impatient with ourselves for not achieving everything on our “To Do” lists.

Many people know the health benefits of yoga: strengthening the muscles, increased flexibility and balance and stress relief. Did you know it can also help us become more patient? Patience is intrinsic to a successful yoga practice. I do not know anyone who has mastered every pose perfectly in their first yoga class or their second or their third. However, they keep coming back, class after class. People learn through yoga that it is the combination of patience and great effort that brings the best results. The best part is that this patience cannot help but bleed into your daily life; helping you to slow down and forgive yourself, and others, easier when mistakes are made. Yoga teaches patience with perspective, who wouldn’t want that?

Yoga is a practice, a journey. It is a pathway one can take towards a happier life not only for you but the people with whom you share this life. The yamas and niyamas are the ethical principles of yoga. They provide a recipe for handling living in a world filled with challenges. Following these yoga principles is a way to avoid turning towards negative behaviors or thoughts and instead pursuing a positive mindfulness leading to increased happiness. Aligning the yamas and niyamas with your life can lead you to peace, truth and self-acceptance; the foundation for a life filled with happiness for you and your family. We look forward to practicing with you!

The 10 Universal Principles:

1. Ahimsa Kindness and Compassion-Towards yourself and others in words, thoughts and actions.

2. Satya Truthfulness-Living in integrity. Speaking your truth, being authentic. Not lying to yourself or others.

3. Asteya Non-Stealing-Taking only what is yours. Not stealing opportunities from yourself or others.

4. Brahmacharya Non-Excess or Moderation-Embracing life’s pleasures without reckless abandon. Seeing the Divine in everything.

5. Aparigraha Non-attachment, Non-Greed-Not defining yourself by your possessions. Letting go of the need to control thoughts, people, outcomes.

6. Saucha Purity and Simplicity-In all things: Body, Mind, Spirit & Surroundings

7. Santosha Contentment-Finding the joy and happiness with where you are and with what you have in this exact moment.

8. Tapas Burning Commitment, Self-Discipline-Embracing the struggles that help you grow. The determination to go on when faced with obstacles and chellenges.

9. Svadhyaya Self-Study-Observing your actions, your ego and continuously seeking out opportunities to learn about your Self.

10. Ishvara Pranidhana Surrender-Acknowledging that there is a Divine force at work and having faith that it will lead you on the right path. Learning to live in the “Flow” of life rather than fighting against the current.

(These explanations taken from Jackie Dumaine-

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page